self-guided tour 2022 👩‍🌾

Lovely Little Farmhouse

The visit starts on the south side of the farmhouse, by the Azulée sign. Simply step through the rose bushes and enjoy the fresh sea air!

On your way, take note of the front of our house – the main house and its summer kitchen are both symmetrical, with a door in the centre and identical window spacings; it is the same on the upper floors. This symmetry is one of the highlights of neoclassical farmhouses in Québec. This style is also known for its steeply pitched gabled roof and flared eaves. The absence of this flared section of the roof is a very rare anomaly in Charlevoix.

Its owners consider themselves very lucky to have acquired the house from Mr. Louis-Philippe Filion, of Baie-Saint-Paul. Built in 1844 by the Tremblay family, it was transferred by marriage to the Filion family around 1888; it remained their ancestral home until it was purchased by Louise and Parker, in 2002.

Built of logs hewn from dovetail logs (piece-on-piece), the house has seen several changes over time. It was extended more than once as the family grew, and the summer kitchen, a later addition, had at least three different roof designs. The exterior walls were originally clad in a type of stucco-like cement – ​​still visible in photographs from 1947 – and its window and door casings have remained elaborate. Since wire mesh was not available at the time, children were put to work hammering thousands upon thousands of small wedges of hardwood into the logs to hold the cement together. The dove-style clapboard we see now was probably added in the late 1940s or 1950s, while its ornate moldings were replaced with the plain ones now present. The original cedar shingle roof was replaced by corrugated aluminum in the 1970s.

 

Point 1 - Our Environment

Looking towards the St. Lawrence, in front of the house you will see the junction of the Milieu and Moulin rivers which meet and flow towards the estuary, under the railway bridge. The highest tides in Baie-Saint-Paul are around 7 m and when the highest tides roll in on the other side of the street, it becomes a salt marsh. And so in summer, about ten times a month, we cross the street, jump into our little boat and go off riding the waves, out on the sea!

Beyond the bridge, you can see Isle-aux-Coudres along its entire length, baptized by Jacques Cartier who discovered an abundance of wild hazel trees (known as coudriers) there… Touring around the island by bike or by car is a fun adventure, and the ferry crossing is free from St-Joseph-de-la-Rive.

The railway was built a century ago. We can easily imagine the view from our house before its arrival! For many years, all goods were traveled from village to village along the north bank of the river, on flat-bottomed sloops called “schooners”. Baie-Saint-Paul's first wharf was on the other side of the bay, and one of the first industries in the region was dedicated to the construction of these magnificent flat-bottomed schooners.

In the neighbouring hamlet of Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive, you can visit the Charlevoix Maritime Museum. Its dry dock vessels can be explored, and the site attracts sea lovers and adventurers of all types!

In 2009, an archaeological dig was conducted on the other side of the marsh, to the left of the railway bridge. The person who wrote her master's thesis on what was discovered there provided remarkable insight into the early days of Baie-Saint-Paul. The lavender-colored star in the photo below identifies the position of the first two buildings where lived the early settlers arriving here from Europe for a life in the New World!

The hill behind our house was once covered with huge red pines. As it was the tree of choice to repair and waterproof the hold of ships crossing the Atlantic to and from France, Jean Talon encouraged two master tar makers to erect, not far from here, the first of 2 buildings: a Goudronnerie Royale was commissioned by Louis XIV, around 1673. About 5 years later, Monseigneur de Laval and Seigneur de Beaupré, chased them away in favour of establishing the region's first three farms, including “la Ferme du bas de la Baie” built almost on the very foundations of the old tar-making facility. The locals still call our little corner of Baie-Saint-Paul “the back of the bay” or the "bottom of the bay".

The complete transcript of the zooarchaeological thesis is available here.

About 150 m down the road is Rivière du Moulin (mill river) where the area's first sawmill was built around 1685. The site had at least three mills, including two sawmills and a flour mill that was later transformed into a textile factory.

This completes our little overview of the history of our corner of Baie-Saint-Paul. If this has piqued your curiosity, our small town is very rich in history (ref.: Centre culturel Paul-Médéric); moreover, Charlevoix has several museums, an archives center and fascinating interpretation sites.

Our organic lavender is in very good company here in Baie-Saint-Paul, a city dotted with agri-food businesses even within its urban perimeter. Its unique blend of residential and agricultural zones add to its charm. Azulée is also a member of the Table agrotouristique de Charlevoix, and is a stop on its Route des Saveurs circuit. Our organic lavender, fresh and dried herbs and other mini-crops are found on many plates among local restaurateurs… on St-Jean Baptiste, downtown and all the way to La Malbaie.

In 2015, Louise won the Prix du patrimoine régional (regional heritage award), in the “Preservation and Showcasing the territory” category.

Why organic lavender? For the sake of our environment and to promote crops that require little water – this little bush does very well in poor soil, with almost no water! Since 2014, the project has developed little by little, with the magical contribution provided by a constellation of ever-devoted little elves!

Point 2 - The Corner Garden

Our organic edible gardens are home to many little wonders!

At Point 2, on the right side, you'll find summer savory, sage, baby Munstead lavender, curly parsley and lastly, yarrow. The huge plant on the far right is lovage (cousin of celery), and next to it is yarrow. The perimeter is lined with mini edible carnations and don't forget to admire the red rosebush, up behind the allium purpureum (ornamental onion). Climbing up the rope trellis are sweet peas, and next to that are a few baby flowering sage plants.

In front of you on the left are 4 small rectangular beds planted with (1) organic red rhubarb, organic lemon balm for our Tisane Estelle, (3) organic chamomile of which we only harvest the flower heads for a wonderfully relaxing herbal tea and finally (4) sorrel, with its lemony spinach flavour that's so delicious when served with salmon. Sorrel has been around for centuries – like all these ancient plants by the way – and it is excellent in soups or as a filling for homemade feta spanakopitas.

Now go to Point 3 where you will see a small organic plum tree, Russian sage, more organic red rhubarb and our baby Munstead lavender nursery. Here our plants are grown for sale to the public the following spring, or to replace those in the field that were unable to withstand the impacts of Pépère Hiver or… Mother Nature. The last small flower bed contains specimens of bee balm: its dried leaves are wonderful in tea (bergamot).

Strung up on the 3 “retired” Bell telephone poles are our organic Willamette hops. These vines adapt well to horticultural zone 3b, they love water and their roots burrow up to 15 feet deep to find it. Hops cones are harvested at the end of August when a fine yellow powder appears at the base of the cone. In addition to being used to brew beer, hops are enjoyed as an herbal tea that promotes the production of breast milk in mothers with newborns!

Point 3 - Our Lavender Field

Our lavandula angustifolia lavender, or English lavender, is commonly called true lavender. It is a smaller plant with a higher essential oil content than its lavandin cousin that is a hybrid known as French lavender. The vast majority of our plants are of the Munstead variety, with a few Hidcote on 2 rows. Hidcote is more compact than Munstead, and its flowers have a darker, almost purple hue. Both varieties are preferred for culinary purposes due to their sweeter flavour and lower camphor content. If you run your fingers through their leaves, you can smell and feel the essential oil – even when there are no flowers!

Louise's dream of having a field of lavender in her backyard started in late 2013. Parker had quit his job in the Yukon in the fall, and Louise returned from Ontario where their son Max was attending university. The field was disced and plowed, and agricultural drainage installed under the top soil. The square garden (which we will get to shortly) had overwintered more than a hundred seedlings. In the spring of 2014, they were transplanted onto the raised furrows. A total of 19 rows were formed and planted with nearly 1,400 seedlings in the first year. Over the next few years, the other furrows were added along with hundreds of other plants; the 2 nurseries were created afterwards.

On a gentle slope, the field drains well with the help of a French drain which crosses the bottom of the plantation. Pay attention to this important aspect of growing lavender: this plant hates having wet feet. The field must therefore be designed so the soil drains well, in order to avoid sudden death and ... disease.

Also, we keep our plants in a juvenile state for their first two summers; in short, they are prevented from flowering, which promotes root development. Our first real harvest therefore took place in 2016, the year that marked the debut of azulée lavender, proudly certified organic by Ecocert Canada. If all goes well, a lavender plant lives about ten years. By planting over several years, we ensure the sustainability of our micro-business.

Point 4 - Our New Young Red Rosebushes

Our four new Champlain rosebushes at the top of the field will provide additional red petals for our Tisane Estelle herbal tea (lemon balm, lavender, rose petals). This type of rose can withstand the Charlevoix climate and the assault of insects and winds from the river, and the blustery backcountry...

The top of the property offers a magnificent view of our surroundings. On the other side of the valley, mid-mountain, we can make out large sand deposits. These are the remnants of the Champlain Sea. The great explorer noted that far above the river there were many signs of an ancient waterfront; he also surmised that a long time ago an inland sea must once have risen 150 m above our present sea level. He was almost right! We now know that the weight of the huge ice caps from the last Ice Age depressed the land mass. As the ice melted, it actually filled and formed this sea. Finally, yes, the land rose up. Of course, this process took a few thousand years and started about 12,000 years ago!

It's also worth noting that we're sitting near the rim of a giant crater formed around 350,000 years ago when a meteorite impact reshaped the area. The Gouffre and La Malbaie Rivers form a semi-circle, and its centre is near the village of Les Éboulements. The outer rim of the crater includes a mountain range whose ridges soar to over 1,000 m above sea level. The other half of the crater is hidden under the St. Lawrence.

Another interesting geological particularity: Baie-Saint-Paul is located at the junction of 2 of the oldest mountain ranges on the planet. The Laurentian Mountains stretch from Ontario through southern Quebec, north of the St. Lawrence and all the way to the eastern tip of the province. The Appalachians extend from the southeastern United States to the Gaspé Peninsula, including under the St. Lawrence River to Isle-aux-Coudres. This ancient chain of mountains has worn away over time, especially under the river where their peaks have created numerous islands, sandbanks and obstacles to navigation, particularly at low tide. All maritime traffic must pass between Baie-Saint-Paul and Isle-aux-Coudres. What a pleasure to see the cruise ships, especially during the fall colours. Imagine how the Queen Mary II – 3 football fields long and over 20 stories high – seems to completely eclipse the islet behind!

Let's now head back down to the farmhouse. The cedar hedge on the left was planted a few years ago to protect the lavender from winter's harsh northern winds. At the end of the hedge is our little organic MacIntosh apple tree.

Point 5 - Our Square Garden on the Left

Louise started her first herb garden here in 2003. It was square with a white picket fence that served to discourage small wild and less wild creatures from entering. Since then, the drying shed was built and it is in a perpetual state of change.

Next to the organic cherry tomatoes is okra, a red variety that goes so well with shrimp. Our garlic is thriving, to be cropped late July. Québec oregano, edible mini pansies, so-called garlic- or flat-leaf chives (its small white satellite flowers are delicious as a garnish on stir-fries, salads, etc.), regular chives and horseradish. Grated horseradish roots are a lovely side with red meats, and add spice to coleslaw while its tender young leaves are a great addition to summer salads, julienned.

Behind it is a large, unruly bush that is actually organic tarragon.

And in spring, large white and blue bulbs float in the wind: these are Gladiator and Everest alliums.

Now it's up to you to find the thyme! All these products are certified organic by Ecocert Canada.

Point 6 - Our Rectangular Garden on the Right

Over time, Louise has tried to propagate the wild lupins you see here, harvesting the pods and sharing the seeds and plants with others who love them too! Lupine were on the list of endangered species here in Québec. As well, lemon verbena can be sipped in herbal teas, and used to make a syrup for summer cocktails or icing for cupcakes. We also supply it to Hydromel Charlevoix, on rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste. Mead is an alcoholic beverage made from fermented honey and water, with or without aromatic herbs.

Our organic lemon verbena is also in a Famille Dufour signature spirit.

Near the asparagus and their canopy of fine fronds, there are small false curry plants, organic rosemary, more organic lemon verbena and Greek oregano. Behind, pink yarrow...

Next, in front of the big rock is a happy red currant bush. Very productive in July, its bright red fruit is transformed into a compote with a delicate lavender note, one of many ephemeral seasonal products prepared by Louise during the summer months.

Point 7 - The Drying Shed

After mid-July, most of the lavender is harvested by hand, in bunches, and hung on vertical chains in the drying shed. The light breeze off the St. Lawrence promotes the air circulation required to dry the flower heads and, depending on the weather, our harvest takes 4 or 5 days to dry. Afterwards, it is handled, processed and stored according to MAPAQ and Ecocert Canada standards.

When Parker built the drying shed in 2016, his aim was to replicate the lines of the old chicken coop – we think he nailed it! The interior is quite small, especially when it's full of lavender!

Organic culinary lavender accounts for about 75% of our annual harvest, and the rest is for sachets, lip balm and mini pillows. Before the pandemic, the drying shed also served as our boutique. The barn board comes from a local farm that had collapsed under the weight of the snow, while its windows were repurposed: we found them in the attic. The rustic cabinet was a gift from the Little Franciscans of Mary who love lavender as much as we do, and the light fixture is an old yoke mounted on a broomstick with a touch of Ikea: the lamp shades!

Point 8 - Distiller

At the end of the Summer 2019, Parker bought a still which has truly become a new vocation: the merry scientist,! At the time of your visit, you might see him working behind the house. This is where he produces our organic Azulée Hydrosols, either lavender or cedar.

Thank you !

Parker would like you to know that our field experience and everything that appeals to your sense of aesthetics at Azulée is the result of Louise's hard work, coloUr schemes and green thumb… not to mention her culinary skills!

Thank you for visiting our small organic lavender farm! Now come back to the front of our summer kitchen, for your free product tasting and to explore our foodie and relaxation products, crafted with lavender, chamomile, verbena and more.

feeling relaxed?

If you have a moment, consider leaving a quick Google review. It helps us reach more amazing customers like you!

support our business

visite autoguidée 2022

la belle fermette

La visite commence au côté sud de la maison (vers le panneau Azulée).

Sur votre chemin, prenez note de l’avant de notre maison – la grande maison et la cuisine d’été sont toutes deux symétriques, avec la porte au centre et les espacements de fenêtre identiques ; idem à l’étage. Cette symétrie est l’un des points saillants des fermes néo-classiques du Québec. Ce style est également connu pour son toit à pignon fortement incliné et ses avant-toits évasés. L’absence de cette section évasée du toit de notre maison est une anomalie très rare en Charlevoix.

Ses propriétaires se considèrent très chanceux d’avoir acquis la maison de M. Louis-Philippe Filion, de Baie-Saint-Paul. Construite en 1844 par la famille Tremblay, elle a été transférée par mariage à la famille Filion vers 1888 ; elle a demeuré la maison ancestrale des Filions jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit achetée par Louise et Parker, en 2002.

Construite en rondins taillés dans des rondins à queue de colombe (pièce-sur-pièce), la maison a connu plusieurs changements au fil du temps. Elle a été agrandie plus d’une fois à mesure que la famille grandissait et la cuisine d’été, un ajout ultérieur, avait au moins trois conceptions de toit différentes. Les murs extérieurs étaient à l’origine recouverts d’un type de ciment semblable au stuc – encore visible sur des photographies datant de1947 – et ses enveloppes de fenêtre et de porte sont restées élaborées. Comme les treillis métalliques n’étaient pas disponibles à l’époque, les enfants étaient mis au travail à marteler des milliers et des milliers de petits coins de bois dur dans les rondins afin de retenir le ciment. Le clapboard de style crique que nous voyons maintenant a probablement été ajouté à la fin des années 1940 ou 1950, tandis que les moulures ornées ont été remplacées par les moulures ordinaires maintenant présentes. La toiture d’origine en bardeaux de cèdre a été remplacée par de l’aluminium ondulé et ce, dans les années 1970.

L’intérieur des murs en pièce-sur-pièce était recouvert du même ciment que l’extérieur. Les murs de division intérieurs sont composés d’une seule rangée de planches épaisses. Tout le poids de la maison est soutenu par ses murs extérieurs, avec des rondins massifs de cèdre soutenant le rez-de-chaussée. À l’étage, des poutres sciées sur toute la largeur de la résidence abritaient autrefois les dortoirs des garçons et des filles d’une grande famille agricole.

L’intérieur de la fermette a été préservé le plus possible comme dans l’ancien temps. Les murs de ciment longtemps recouverts de languettes et de pin à rainures, les moulures ornées encadrent encore les portes et les fenêtres, et les marches des petits escaliers tordus menant aux étages supérieurs sont usées par le temps et les pas des générations passées.

Le travail de Parker a mené sa petite famille pendant plusieurs années à vivre en Ontario, et la maison a été placée dans un bassin de location touristique. Tous les ans, la famille revenait à Baie-Saint-Paul pendant au moins 4 semaines pour s’occuper de l’entretien de la propriété et des travaux d’amélioration. In 2008, they spent most of the summer stripping all the paint down to the bare wood, and repainting the entire house. Les couleurs – « vert poétique » et « perle de culture » étaient l’inspiration de Louise, et un véritable départ du look « à la chaux » d’antan, avec son pourtour bleu marin. Nos voisins du chemin de la Pointe ont été très encourageants pendant cette partie du projet. Beaucoup de gens se réfèrent maintenant à notre maison comme « la maison verte du bas de la baie » ou encore « la maison avec les hydrangées. »

 1. notre environnement

En regardant vers le Saint-Laurent, vous apercevrez devant la maison la jonction des rivières du Milieu et du Moulin qui se rejoignent et qui s’écoulent vers le fleuve, sous le pont ferroviaire. Les plus grandes marées de Baie-Saint-Paul sont d’environ 7m. Lors des marées les plus élevées, l’autre côté de la rue est entièrement inondé, pour devenir un marais salant. Et donc l’été, une dizaine de fois par mois, nous traversons la rue, nous sautons dans notre petit bateau et nous partons voguer sur la mer !

Au-delà du pont, on aperçoit l’Isle-aux-Coudres sur toute sa longueur, baptisée par Jacques Cartier qui y a découvert une abondance de noisetiers sauvages (dits coudriers) … Faire le tour de l’île à vélo ou en voiture est une très belle activité, après la traversée gratuite depuis St-Joseph-de-la-Rive.

Le chemin de fer a été construit il ya un siècle. On peut facilement imaginer la vue depuis notre maison avant sa construction ! Pendant de nombreuses années, toutes les marchandises étaient voyagées d’un village à l’autre, le long de la rive nord du fleuve, sur des sloops à fond plat appelés « goélettes ». Le premier quai de Baie-Saint-Paul était de l’autre côté de la baie, et l’une des premières industries de la région était dédiée à la construction de ces magnifiques goélettes à fond plat.

Le hameau voisin de Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive vous propose son Musée maritime de Charlevoix. Sa cale sèche et son musée attireront les amoureux de la mer !

En 2009, une fouille archéologique a été menée de l’autre côté et à gauche du pont ferroviaire. La personne qui a rédigé son mémoire de maîtrise sur ce qui y a été découvert nous a offert un aperçu remarquable des débuts de Baie-Saint-Paul. L’étoile couleur lavande sur la photo ci-dessous identifie la position des deux premiers bâtiments construits par les tout premiers arrivants venus d’Europe pour s’installer dans la région !

La colline derrière notre maison était autrefois couverte d’énormes pins rouges. Or comme c’était l’arbre de choix pour faire le terrain nécessaire pour réparer et imperméabiliser la cale des bateaux traversant l’Atlantique à destination et en provenance de la France, Jean Talon a encouragé deux maîtres goudronniers à ériger non loin d’ici le premier de 2 bâtiments : une Goudronnerie Royale fut donc mandatée par Louis XIV, vers 1673. Environ 5 ans plus tard, Mgr. de Laval, le dénommé Seigneur de Beaupré, les chassa en faveur d’y établir les trois premières fermes de la région, dont « la Ferme du bas de la Baie » construite presque sur les fondations mêmes de l’ancienne goudronnerie. Les habitants appellent encore notre petit coin de Baie-Saint-Paul «le bas de la baie» – ou fond de la baie.

La transcription complète de la thèse zooarchéologique est disponible ici.

À environ 150 m en bas de la route se trouve la rivière du Moulin (la rivière du moulin) où la première scierie de la région a été construite vers 1685. Le site abritait au moins trois moulins, dont deux moulins à scie et un moulin à grain, transformés plus tard en usine textile.

Ça complète notre petit aperçu sur l’historique de notre coin de Baie-Saint-Paul. Si cela a piqué votre curiosité, c’est une ville très riche en histoire (réf. : Centre culturel Paul-Médéric) ; d’ailleurs, Charlevoix propose plusieurs musées, archives et sites d’interprétation fascinants.

Notre lavande biologique est en très bonne compagnie à Baie-Saint-Paul, une ville parsemée d’entreprises agroalimentaires même dans son périmètre urbain. Elle propose un mariage unique de zonage résidentiel et agricole. Azulée est également membre de la Table agrotouristique de Charlevoix et figure sur son circuit Route des saveurs. Notre lavande biologique, nos herbes fraîches et séchées et autres mini-cultures se retrouvent dans de nombreuses assiettes parmi les restaurateurs locaux … comme le resto La Muse sur St-Jean Baptiste, au centre-ville.

En 2015, Louise était Lauréate d’un Prix du patrimoine régional, dans la catégorie consacrée à la préservation et à la promotion du territoire de la région.

Pourquoi la lavande bio? Souci de l’environnement, et promouvoir des cultures nécessitant peu d’eau – il se débrouille très bien dans un sol pauvre, avec presque pas d’eau! Depuis 2014, le projet s’est développé petit à petit, avec l’apport magique prodigué par une constellation de petits lutins toujours dévoués !

2. le jardin du coin

Nos jardins comestibles biologiques proposent de nombreuses merveilles !

Dans le grand jardin à droite, il y a de la sarriette, de la sauge, de la lavande bébé, deux types de persil (frisé et italien), des plants de lavande Munstead, du basilic nain et des tomates cerises sur la vigne. L’énorme plante au bout à droite, c’est de la livèche (le cousin du céleri), et autour vous trouverez de l’achillée millefeuille. Le pourtour est bordé de mini-œillets comestibles et n’oubliez pas de trouver les roses rouges derrière l’allium purpureum (oignon ornemental) et la sauge à fleur mauve.

Toujours devant vous à gauche, il y a les 4 petits jardins rectangulaires comprenant (1) de la rhubarbe rouge biologique et des départs de mélisse bio, (2) de la mélisse biologique pour notre Tisane Estelle, (3) de la camomille bio dont nous ne récoltons que les têtes de fleur pour une tisane merveilleusement relaxante et enfin (4) l’oseille, avec son goût d’épinards au citron si délicieux quand elle accompagne un pavé de saumon. L’oseille existe depuis des siècles – d’ailleurs comme toutes ces plants anciens – et elle est excellente dans les soupes ou comme garniture de spanakopitas maison au fromage feta.

Partez maintenant vers le # 3 où vous verrez un petit prunier bio, encore de la rhubarbe rouge biologique, de l’ail bio Music et notre pouponnière de bébés lavande. Ici nos plantes sont cultivées pour la vente au public le printemps suivant, ou pour remplacer celles du champ qui n’ont pas su résister aux effets de Père Hiver ou… de Dame Nature.

Rattachée aux 3 poteaux de téléphone « retraités » Bell, la vigne qui grimpe sur les ficelles, c’est du houblon Willamette bio. Ces vignes s’adaptent bien à la zone horticole 3b, elles adorent l’eau et leurs racines s’enfoncent jusqu’à 15 pieds de profondeur pour la trouver. Les cônes de houblon sont récoltés fin août lorsqu’une fine poudre jaune apparaît à la base du cône. En plus d’être utilisé pour brasser de la bière, le houblon se boit en tisane qui favorise la production de lait maternel chez les mamans avec des nouveau-nés !

3. le champ de lavande

Notre lavande dite lavandula angustifolia est communément appelée lavande anglaise ou vraie. C’est un plant plus petit avec une teneur en huile essentielle plus élevée que son cousin le lavandin qui est un hybride connu sous le nom de lavande française. La grande majorité de nos plants sont de la variété Munstead, avec un peu de Hidcote sur 2 sillons. La Hidcote est plus compacte que la Munstead, et ses fleurs ont une teinte plus foncée, presque violette. Les deux variétés sont préférées à des fins culinaires en raison de leur goût plus sucré et la teneur en camphre plus faible. Si vous passez vos doigts dans leur feuillage, vous pouvez sentir l’huile essentielle – même en l’absence de fleurs !

Le rêve de Louise d’avoir un champ de lavande dans sa cour a commencé à se concrétiser à la fin de 2013. Parker avait quitté son emploi au Yukon en automne, et Louise est revenue de l’Ontario où leur fils Max étudiait à l’université. Le champ a été disqué et labouré, et le drainage agricole installé sous le champ. Le jardin carré (où nous arriverons sous peu) a hiverné plus d’une centaine de jeunes plants. Au printemps 2014, ils ont été transplantés sur leurs sillons surélevés fraîchement tracés. Au total, 19 rangs ont été formés et plantés avec près de 1 400 plants la première année. Au cours des années suivantes, les autres sillons ont été ajoutés avec des centaines d’autres plants ; les 2 pouponnières ont été créées par la suite.

Sur une pente douce, le champ se draine bien à l’aide d’un drain français qui traverse le fond de la plantation. Il faut prêter attention à cet aspect important de la culture de la lavande : cette plante déteste avoir les pieds mouillés. Le champ doit donc être conçu pour que le sol draine bien et ce, afin d’éviter la mort subite et la maladie.

Aussi, nous conservons nos plants à l’état juvénile leurs deux premiers étés ; en résumé on les empêche de fleurir, ce qui favorise le développement racinaire. Notre première véritable récolte a donc eu lieu en 2016, l’année qui a marqué les débuts de la lavande biologique azulée, fièrement certifiée biologique par Ecocert Canada. Si tout va bien, un plant de lavande peut vivre une dizaine d’années. En plantant sur plusieurs années, nous veillons donc à la pérennité de notre microentreprise.

4. la brigade de tournesols

Plus de 60 plants de tournesol mammouth biologiques forment une double brigade en haut du champ. Cette variété peut atteindre 10 à 12 pieds (H), et elle présente d’immenses têtes qui fleurissent en août. Lancée à titre d’expérience en 2019, notre brigade de tournesols est vite devenue un « site selfie » très populaire …

Le haut du terrain offre une vue magnifique des environs. De l’autre côté de la vallée, nous distinguons de grands dépôts de sable. Ce sont des vestiges de la mer de Champlain. Le grand explorateur a noté que bien au-dessus de la rivière, il y avait de nombreux signes d’un ancien front de mer; il a également supposé qu’il y a longtemps, une mer intérieure devait autrefois s’élever à 150 m au-dessus du niveau actuel de la mer. Il avait presque raison ! Nous savons maintenant que le poids des énormes calottes glaciaires datant de la dernière période glaciaire a déprimé la masse terrestre et à mesure que la glace fondait, elle a carrément rempli et formé cette mer. Pour terminer, oui, la terre a remonté. Bien sûr, ce processus a pris quelques milliers d’années et a commencé il y a environ 12 000 ans !

Il convient également de noter que nous sommes assis près du fond d’un cratère géant formé il y a environ 350 000 ans, lorsque la chute d’un météorite a remodelé la région. Les rivières du Gouffre et La Malbaie forment un demi-cercle, et son centre se trouve tout près du village des Éboulements. Le rebord extérieur du cratère comprend une chaîne de montagnes dont les crêtes s’élèvent à plus de 1 000 m d’altitude. L’autre moitié du cratère se cache sous le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Autre particularité géologique intéressante : Baie-Saint-Paul se situe à la jonction de 2 des plus anciennes chaînes de montagnes de la planète. Les montagnes laurentiennes s’étirent de l’Ontario à travers le sud du Québec, au nord du Saint-Laurent et jusqu’à la pointe est de la province. Les Appalaches s’étendent du sud-est des États-Unis jusqu’à la péninsule gaspésienne, y compris sous le fleuve Saint-Laurent jusqu’à l’Isle-aux-Coudres. Cette ancienne chaîne de montagnes s’est usée au fil du temps, notamment sous le fleuve où leurs sommets ont créé de nombreuses îles, bancs de sable et obstacles à la navigation, notamment à marée basse. Tout trafic maritime doit forcément passer entre Baie-Saint-Paul et l’Isle- aux-Coudres. Quel plaisir d’apercevoir les bateaux de croisière, surtout pendant les couleurs d’automne. Imaginez comment la Queen Mary 2 – donc 3 terrains de football (L) et plus de 20 étages (H) – semble complètement éclipser l’îlôt derrière ! 

Chemin faisant, redescendons maintenant vers la fermette. La haie de cèdres à gauche a été plantée il y a quelques années pour mieux protéger la lavande des méchants vents du nord, l’hiver. Au bout de la haie, il y a de belles marguerites Shasta qui reviennent tous les ans.

5. le jardin carré à gauche

Louise a commencé son premier jardin de fines herbes ici, en 2003. Il était carré et entouré par… une clôture à piquets qui servait à décourager les petites créatures sauvages et moins sauvages d’y entrer. Depuis, la construction du séchoir et le passage du temps l’ont diminué mais il évolue toujours au fil du temps.

A l’ombre des vignes de mini tomates bio et du tournesol mammouth, la verveine citronnelle, les chrysanthèmes shinjuku, l’ail et l’estragon prospèrent. L’origan du Québec, les mini pensées comestibles, la ciboulette dite aillée ou à feuille plate (ses petites fleurs blanches en satellite sont délicieuses pour parachever un sauté, en salade, etc.), la ciboulette ordinaire ainsi que le raifort. Râpées, ses racines accompagnent souvent les viandes rouges et ajoutent du piquant à la salade de chou, ou son nouveau feuillage tendre coupé en julienne pour les salades d’été.

À l’arrière, devant notre petit pommier nain McIntosh, le grand buisson indiscipliné est en fait de l’estragon bio.

Essayez maintenant de trouver le thym, la lavande, la roquette et l’allium assortis biologiques. 

6. le jardin rectangulaire à droite

Au fil du temps, Louise a travaillé à la propagation des lupins sauvages que vous voyez ici, en récoltant les cosses et en partageant les graines et les plantes avec d’autres qui les aiment aussi ! Le lupin figurait sur la liste des espèces en voie de disparution ici au Québec. La verveine citronnée fournira une nouvelle hydromellerie qui devait ouvrir rue Saint-Jean-Baptiste. Ce projet a été retardé par la pandémie. L’hydromel est une boisson alcoolisée à base de miel fermenté et d’eau, avec ou sans herbes aromatiques.

Près des asperges avec leur canopée de frondes toutes fines, on peut voir du romarin bio, de la verveine citronnée, de l’origan et derrière, de l’achillée rose.

Ensuite, à gauche du rocher se trouve un buisson de groseilles rouges à grappes. Très productif en juillet et août, ses fruits d’un rouge vif sont transformés en compote avec une légère note lavande, une parmi bien d’autres productions éphémères saisonnières de Louise.

7. le séchoir

Au cours de la 2e quinzaine de juillet, une grande partie de la lavande est récoltée à la main, en bouquets, et suspendue sur les chaînes verticales dans le séchoir. La petite brise du St-Laurent favorise la circulation d’air nécessaire au séchage et selon la météo, la récolte peut prendre environ une semaine à sécher. Par la suite, elle est à la fois manipulée, transformée et stockée selon les normes MAPAQ et Ecocert Canada.

Lorsque Parker a construit le séchoir en 2016, son objectif était de reproduire les lignes de l’ancien poulailler – nous pensons qu’il l’a bien réussi ! L’intérieur est assez petit, surtout lorsqu’il est rempli de lavande. Merci de bien vouloir respecter la distanciation physique tant à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur !

La lavande culinaire représente environ 75 % de la récolte annuelle, et le reste est destiné aux sachets, au baume à lèvre et aux mini oreillers. Avant la pandémie, le séchoir a également doublé comme notre boutique. Le bois de grange provient d’une ferme locale qui a été débâtie, les fenêtres ont été réinventées à partir de celles trouvées dans le grenier, l’armoire est un don des Petites franciscaines de Marie qui aiment autant la lavande que nous, et le luminaire est un ancien joug à transporter des seaux monté sur un manche à balai et pour terminer …une touche Ikea !

À la fin de l’été 2019, Parker s’est aventuré dans la distillation, devenue carrément une nouvelle vocation : celle du joyeux scientifique ! Si le moment de votre visite est le bon, vous pourriez le voir à l’arrière de la maison. C’est ici que nous produisons notre Hydrolat de lavande biologique Azulée et notre Hydrolat de camomille biologique Azulée.

merci !

Parker aimerait que vous sachiez que l’expérience et tout ce qui plaît à vos sens esthétiques chez Azulée est le résultat du travail de Louise, de son sens de la couleur et du design, et de son pouce vert… sans parler de ses talents culinaires !

Merci de visiter notre ferme de lavande biologique ! Présentez-vous au « balcon boutique » à l’avant de la maison pour en savoir plus sur nos produits à la lavande.

avez-vous un moment?

Veuillez nous laisser un avis Google pour nous aider à toucher plus de personnes à travers le monde. Nous apprécions votre soutien !

laisser un avis